- What the Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer Credential Is
- Who Issues It and How Testing Works
- Exam Format at a Glance
- The Nine Course Modules You Must Know
- Experience Suggestions and Training Options
- Pricing and What the Exam Combo Includes
- Validity, CEUs, and Renewal
- Where the Credential Fits in a Career
- Sequencing Your Preparation
- Frequently Asked Questions
- C)DRE here means Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer, issued by Mile2 and styled C)DRE.
- The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, roughly two hours, and a 70% minimum to pass.
- Preparation follows nine published Mile2 course modules, from Introduction through Pandemics.
- The credential is valid three years; CEU renewal requires 60 CEUs and a $200 US regional fee.
What the Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer Credential Is
The C)DRE is a professional certification focused on disaster recovery planning and business continuity. The acronym stands for Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer, and it is issued by Mile2, a vendor-neutral cybersecurity and IT training and certification provider. The unusual closing parenthesis in the name is simply Mile2's official styling for its certification titles.
The credential targets professionals who need to plan for, design, test, and maintain the processes that keep an organization functioning after a disruptive event. That covers everything from analyzing which business functions matter most, to choosing technical recovery strategies, to running exercises that prove the plan works. If you have seen the acronym used elsewhere in the industry, note that this article concerns only the Mile2 credential. For shorter definitional explainers, see What Is C)DRE Certification? and What Does C)DRE Stand For?.
Who Issues It and How Testing Works
Mile2 delivers the exam through its own online account and learning management system, historically called MACS. No separate third-party testing company has been verified for this exam, so candidates should expect to work inside the Mile2 environment rather than booking a seat at an outside test center.
Mile2's general guidance is that most of its standard exams do not require a scheduled live proctor, and the C)DRE is not a named exception to that pattern. However, specific rules around open-book use, calculators, adaptive delivery, and accommodations were not verified in the public sources reviewed. Before you sit the exam, confirm the current rules directly in your Mile2 account or with Mile2 support, and read our guide to C)DRE exam dates, testing windows, and scheduling for the practical side of booking.
Exam Format at a Glance
The published facts about the exam itself are compact. Here is what is documented and what is not:
| Element | What the Public Sources Show |
|---|---|
| Question count | 100 questions |
| Question style | Multiple choice |
| Time allowed | Approximately 2 hours (course outline and general FAQ both indicate two hours) |
| Passing standard | Minimum 70% |
| Scored vs. unscored items | Not disclosed |
| Candidate pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Official domain weights | Not published; only a nine-module course outline is available |
With 100 questions in roughly two hours, you have a little over a minute per item on average. That pace rewards candidates who recognize terminology and process sequences quickly, which is typical of a certification built around planning frameworks rather than hands-on lab tasks. Read more about the scoring threshold in C)DRE Passing Score: Exactly What You Need to Pass, and see what the data does and does not show about pass rates before trusting any number you see quoted online.
The Nine Course Modules You Must Know
Mile2 publishes a course outline with nine modules. It is important to be precise about what this is: the outline is undated, and it is a list of preparation topics from the issuer's course, not a verified weighted exam blueprint. Mile2 does not publish percentage weights per domain here, so no one can credibly tell you which module is "largest" on the exam. Anyone who quotes exact domain percentages for this credential is guessing. For a deeper walkthrough, see C)DRE Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 9 Content Areas.
Domain 1: Introduction
The foundation layer. Expect vocabulary and framing for the whole discipline.
- How disaster recovery relates to business continuity
- Core terminology you will see reused in every later module
- Why organizations formalize recovery programs
Domain 2: Business Impact Analysis
The analytical starting point for any recovery program: understanding what the business cannot afford to lose and for how long.
- Identifying critical functions and their dependencies
- Quantifying impact of downtime and data loss
- Translating findings into recovery priorities and targets
Domain 3: BCP and DRP Design
Turning analysis into documented business continuity and disaster recovery plans.
- The distinction between continuity plans and recovery plans
- Plan structure, roles, and responsibilities
- Alignment of plan scope with impact-analysis results
Domain 4: IT Recovery Strategies
The technical options for restoring systems and data, and how to match them to recovery requirements.
- Trade-offs between cost and speed of recovery
- Backup, replication, and alternate-site approaches
- Matching strategy to the targets defined in the impact analysis
Domain 5: IT Resiliency
Building systems that withstand failure rather than merely recovering from it.
- Redundancy and fault-tolerance concepts
- How resilience reduces reliance on emergency recovery
- Where resilience investments complement formal plans
Domain 6: Implementation Phase
Moving from approved design to operating capability.
- Deploying the chosen recovery solutions
- Documentation, procedures, and staff awareness
- Coordinating across business and technical teams
Domain 7: Testing and Exercise
Proving that plans work before a real event does it for you.
- Different exercise types and their purposes
- Measuring results against recovery objectives
- Capturing lessons learned and feeding them back into plans
Domain 8: Maintenance and Execution
Keeping plans current and knowing how to act when a disruption occurs.
- Change management and periodic plan review
- Activation criteria and execution during an incident
- Sustaining the program over time
Domain 9: Pandemics
A dedicated module on planning for prolonged, people-centered disruption, which differs sharply from facility or system outages.
- How pandemic scenarios stress continuity planning differently
- Workforce availability and remote-operation considerations
- Adapting existing plans rather than writing from scratch
Experience Suggestions and Training Options
Suggested background
Mile2 suggests twelve months of experience in Information Systems and twelve months in Information Systems Management. These are described as suggestions, not mandatory prerequisites. The practical reading: the exam is accessible to candidates who have not yet accumulated formal experience, but the content will make far more sense if you have worked around IT operations, change processes, or business-facing technology management. Our C)DRE requirements guide goes deeper on eligibility.
The four-day course
Mile2 offers a four-day course that awards 32 continuing education units (CEUs). Training is not required to attempt the certification, so self-study candidates may go straight to the exam. The course is still worth understanding because its nine modules are the closest thing to an official content map. If you are weighing formal instruction against self-study, see our overview of C)DRE training options.
Pricing and What the Exam Combo Includes
Mile2's official Exam Combo listing shows a promotional price of US$500 against a US$795 list price. The combo includes two exam attempts and preparation resources. Two details deserve caution:
- The price shown at actual checkout was not verified, so confirm the final amount in the cart before you commit.
- This is not a member versus non-member fee structure; the listing is a bundled product, and there is no public split to compare.
The two-attempt feature is the most strategically useful part of the bundle, since a first attempt can also reveal how the question style feels. For a full line-by-line view of what you might spend, including renewal, read C)DRE Certification Cost: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Validity, CEUs, and Renewal
The credential is valid for three years. To keep it active, Mile2 describes a CEU-based renewal path with these elements:
- Earn 60 CEUs over the cycle, commonly framed as 20 per year.
- Acknowledge the ethics and policy requirements.
- Pay the US regional renewal fee of $200.
An examination-based renewal is available as an alternative to accumulating CEUs. Because the initial four-day course awards 32 CEUs, formal training can contribute meaningfully toward a later renewal, though you should confirm exactly how Mile2 credits those units in your account.
Key Takeaway
Plan for renewal on day one. Keep records of every webinar, conference, training course, or project that could earn CEUs, and decide early whether you prefer the CEU route or the examination-based alternative.
Where the Credential Fits in a Career
Disaster recovery work sits at the intersection of IT operations, risk management, and business continuity. The kinds of roles that naturally use these skills include disaster recovery coordinators and engineers, business continuity analysts, IT operations and infrastructure managers, risk and compliance staff, and consultants who help organizations build or audit recovery programs. Organizations in regulated or availability-sensitive sectors tend to value documented recovery capability, though hiring preferences vary widely by employer.
It is worth being candid about outcomes: no reliable public salary dataset is tied specifically to this credential, so treat any precise earnings figure with suspicion. For a measured discussion, see our C)DRE salary guide, the overview of C)DRE jobs, and the broader ROI analysis of whether the certification is worth it.
Sequencing Your Preparation
Because the nine modules form a lifecycle, the most efficient approach is to study them in order, front-loading the foundations that later modules reuse. One sample sequencing, adjustable to your schedule and background:
Introduction and Business Impact Analysis
- Master terminology first; every later module depends on it
- Work through impact-analysis logic until recovery priorities feel intuitive
BCP and DRP Design, plus IT Recovery Strategies
- Separate continuity concepts from recovery concepts
- Practice matching technical strategies to stated recovery requirements
IT Resiliency, Implementation, and Testing
- Compare resilience against recovery as complementary approaches
- Learn exercise types and what each is designed to prove
Maintenance, Pandemics, and full review
- Cover plan upkeep and execution, then the pandemic scenario
- Finish with timed sets of 100 questions to rehearse the two-hour pace
Because the public sources do not publish domain weights, give every module honest attention rather than skipping any. For a fuller approach, see our C)DRE study guide for passing on your first attempt, the one-page C)DRE cheat sheet for last-day review, and our difficulty assessment to calibrate your expectations. When you are ready to test yourself under realistic conditions, use the C)DRE practice tests.
Frequently Asked Questions
In this context it stands for Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer, a Mile2 certification. The parenthesis is part of Mile2's official styling. See also C)DRE meaning for more background.
The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions and takes approximately two hours. The minimum passing score is 70%. How many of those questions are scored versus unscored is not disclosed.
No. Training is not required to attempt the certification. The four-day course awards 32 CEUs and follows the nine published modules, but self-study candidates may sit the exam directly.
It is valid for three years. Renewal through the CEU path requires 60 CEUs (commonly 20 per year), an ethics and policy acknowledgment, and a US regional renewal fee of $200. Examination-based renewal is an alternative.
Neither is publicly disclosed. Mile2 publishes a nine-module course outline rather than a weighted exam blueprint, so any specific pass rate or domain percentage you encounter should be treated as unverified.