C)DRE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

C)DRE Meaning

TL;DR
  • C)DRE means Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer, a credential issued by Mile2 and styled with a closing parenthesis.
  • The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, takes roughly two hours, and requires a minimum 70% to pass.
  • Preparation maps to nine published course modules, from Introduction through Pandemics; these are not official weighted exam domains.
  • Training is not required to attempt the exam, and the suggested 12 + 12 months of experience is guidance, not a mandate.

What C)DRE Stands For

C)DRE stands for Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer. It is a professional certification offered by Mile2, and it validates a candidate's grasp of how organizations plan for, build, test, and maintain the ability to recover critical IT services after a disruption. If you landed here because you saw the letters on a job posting, a résumé, or a training catalog, that is the full expansion: Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer, and nothing else.

That clarity matters because acronyms in the security and continuity world overlap constantly. This article deals only with the Mile2 credential. Everything below concerns that certification's structure, its published course outline, and its exam logistics. For parallel explanations of the same question, see our short pages on what C)DRE stands for and what C)DRE is.

Why the Parenthesis Is Part of the Name

Mile2 styles its certifications with a closing parenthesis after the first letter, so the official rendering is C)DRE rather than CDRE. The same convention appears across the vendor's catalog. The punctuation is a branding choice, not a separate designation, and the credential name you would cite on a résumé is simply Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer, followed by the styled abbreviation if you wish.

In practice you will see both spellings online. Search engines and hiring portals often strip the parenthesis, which is why people also search for "CDRE." If you want the plain-language version of these naming questions, our pages on CDRE meaning and what CDRE means cover the same ground from other angles.

Naming tip: On a résumé, write the full title, Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer, and put the styled C)DRE in parentheses after it. The full title is what recruiters and applicant-tracking systems will match against.

What the Title Means in Practice

The word "engineer" in the title signals an implementation focus. Disaster recovery engineering sits between business continuity planning (deciding what must survive and how fast) and IT operations (making systems actually come back). A person holding this credential is expected to understand both halves: the business reasoning that sets recovery priorities, and the technical strategies that meet them.

The nine-module outline makes that split visible. It opens with analysis and design, moves through recovery strategies and resiliency, and then covers implementation, testing, maintenance, and even a dedicated module on pandemics. The arc follows the lifecycle of a continuity and recovery program rather than a single technology stack, so the credential is less about any one vendor's backup product and more about the discipline around recovery.

For a deeper look at the certification as a whole, the overview at C)DRE certification and the plain definition at what is a C)DRE are useful companions.

The Nine Course Modules Behind the Credential

Mile2's current course outline for C)DRE is undated and lists nine modules. It is important to be precise about what that list is. It is a set of course-preparation topics, not a published, weighted exam blueprint. The exam-domain count, domain percentages, and the largest domain have not been verified from public sources, so do not trust any article that quotes percentage weights for this exam. Our complete guide to the nine C)DRE content areas goes through them one at a time; here is the overview.

Module 1: Introduction

Frames the vocabulary and scope of continuity and recovery work.

  • Distinguish business continuity from disaster recovery
  • Know the lifecycle the remaining modules follow

Module 2: Business Impact Analysis

The analytical foundation: which functions matter most and what an outage costs.

  • Identify critical processes and their dependencies
  • Understand recovery time and recovery point concepts as outputs of the analysis

Module 3: BCP and DRP Design

Turning analysis into documented plans.

  • Separate the purpose of a business continuity plan from a disaster recovery plan
  • Know what a plan must contain to be usable under stress

Module 4: IT Recovery Strategies

Choosing how technology gets restored.

  • Compare alternate-site and replication approaches against recovery objectives
  • Match strategy cost to business impact findings

Module 5: IT Resiliency

Reducing the chance and impact of failure before it happens.

  • Redundancy, availability, and fault tolerance concepts
  • How resiliency complements, rather than replaces, recovery

Module 6: Implementation Phase

Putting approved plans and strategies into operation.

  • Roles, responsibilities, and awareness for plan activation
  • Moving from document to working capability

Module 7: Testing and Exercise

Proving that plans work.

  • Types of exercises and what each validates
  • Capturing findings and feeding them back into the plan

Module 8: Maintenance and Execution

Keeping plans current and carrying them out during a real event.

  • Change management and periodic review
  • Executing the plan and coordinating response

Module 9: Pandemics

Applying continuity thinking to prolonged, people-centered disruptions.

  • How a pandemic differs from a facility or system outage
  • Planning for workforce availability and extended operations

Candidates should also note that practice-question allocations across these topics, wherever you see them on third-party prep sites, are editorial choices rather than official weightings. That includes ours. Treat them as a way to organize study, not as a prediction of exam composition.

Exam Mechanics: Format, Passing Score, and Delivery

The publicly documented facts are compact. The exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions, and the allowed time is approximately two hours; both the course outline and the general FAQ point to roughly that length. A minimum score of 70% is required to pass. Mile2 does not publish how many questions are scored versus unscored, and it does not publish a candidate pass rate, so claims about either should be treated as unsupported. See what the pass-rate data actually shows and exactly what you need to pass for the details.

Testing happens through Mile2's own online account and learning platform, historically referred to as MACS. No external testing company has been verified for this exam. Most standard Mile2 exams do not require a scheduled live proctor, and C)DRE is not a named exception, but specific rules on open-book use, calculators, adaptive delivery, and accommodations were not verified. Before test day, confirm those details directly in your account or with Mile2 rather than assuming.

ItemWhat the sources support
IssuerMile2
Question count100 multiple-choice
DurationApproximately two hours
Passing scoreMinimum 70%
DeliveryMile2 online account/LMS (historically MACS)
Scored vs. unscored splitNot disclosed
Candidate pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Weighted domain blueprintNot verified
Read the gaps carefully: A 70% minimum on 100 questions is a clear target, but unpublished unscored items and unverified domain weights mean you cannot game the exam by skipping a module. Because the exam version year and official domain count are also unconfirmed, broad coverage of all nine modules is the safe approach.

Cost, Registration, and What the Bundle Includes

The official Exam Combo listing shows a promotional price of US$500 against a list price of US$795. The price actually charged at checkout was not verified, so treat those two figures as the listing's stated numbers rather than a guaranteed final cost. The combo includes two exam attempts and preparation resources. It is not structured as a member versus non-member split. For a full accounting, including renewal-related costs, read the complete C)DRE pricing breakdown.

The two-attempt feature changes the risk calculation. A single failed sitting does not force a second purchase, which makes the bundle attractive to candidates who prefer a safety net. It does not, however, replace preparation: a retake is only useful if you diagnose which modules cost you points the first time. If you are weighing whether the investment pays off, our ROI analysis walks through that decision.

Experience Guidance and Training

Mile2 suggests twelve months of experience in Information Systems and twelve months in Information Systems Management. The word "suggested" is deliberate: these are recommendations, not mandatory gates. Likewise, training is not required to attempt the certification. A self-directed candidate with relevant background can sit the exam without taking the course.

For those who do choose the class, the four-day course awards 32 CEUs, which can be useful toward continuing-education needs. Our pages on C)DRE training and C)DRE requirements and eligibility explain how to decide between self-study and instructor-led preparation.

Key Takeaway

Because neither training nor the experience guidance is mandatory, your real prerequisite is comfort with the nine module topics. If you lack hands-on exposure to planning or recovery work, close that gap through the Business Impact Analysis and Testing and Exercise material first, since those modules translate directly into scenario-style questions.

Validity and Renewal

The credential is valid for three years. Renewal through continuing education requires 60 CEUs, commonly earned at about 20 per year, along with an ethics and policy acknowledgment and a US regional renewal fee of $200. Examination-based renewal is available as an alternative for those who prefer to re-test instead of logging CEUs.

The four-day course's 32 CEUs make a meaningful dent in the 60-CEU requirement, which is one reason some holders pair certification with the classroom option. Plan ahead rather than scrambling in year three; spreading activity across the cycle is the intent behind the roughly 20-per-year guidance.

Where the Title Fits in Hiring

The certification speaks to roles where recovery capability is a stated responsibility: disaster recovery analysts and engineers, business continuity coordinators, IT operations and infrastructure staff who own recovery runbooks, and information systems managers accountable for availability. Because the curriculum spans analysis, design, strategy, testing, and maintenance, it fits both hands-on and program-oriented positions.

Which employers prefer it, and what it adds to pay, is not something public sources quantify, so we avoid inventing figures. For market-facing context, see the discussion of C)DRE jobs and the qualitative treatment in the salary guide. Regulated sectors that must demonstrate tested recovery plans, such as finance, healthcare, and government contracting, are natural places where continuity credentials get noticed, but treat that as a reasonable expectation rather than a measured statistic.

Sequencing the Modules in a Study Plan

Since the outline follows a lifecycle, studying it in order works well, with extra time allocated where reasoning rather than memorization is needed. Here is one way to sequence it over six weeks, tied to the specific modules.

Week 1

Introduction and Business Impact Analysis

  • Lock in terminology first; later modules assume it
  • Practice deriving priorities from impact, since design and strategy depend on it
Week 2

BCP and DRP Design

  • Contrast the purpose and contents of each plan type
Week 3

IT Recovery Strategies and IT Resiliency

  • Match strategy to objective and cost
  • Separate prevention (resiliency) from restoration (recovery)
Week 4

Implementation Phase and Testing and Exercise

  • Learn what each exercise type proves
Week 5

Maintenance and Execution, plus Pandemics

  • Treat the Pandemics module as its own scenario type, not an afterthought
Week 6

Full review and timed practice

  • Run 100-question sets against a two-hour clock
  • Revisit weakest modules

For a broader preparation framework, see the C)DRE study guide, the one-page cheat sheet, and the difficulty guide. When you are ready to test your recall under realistic conditions, our C)DRE practice tests let you drill each module and simulate the full 100-question format.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does C)DRE stand for?

C)DRE stands for Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer, a certification issued by Mile2. The closing parenthesis is part of Mile2's branding style, so you may also see the credential written as CDRE.

How many questions are on the exam and what score passes?

The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions over approximately two hours, and a minimum of 70% is required to pass. Mile2 does not publish how many questions are scored versus unscored.

Do I need to take the course before sitting the exam?

No. Training is not required to attempt certification. Mile2 suggests twelve months in Information Systems and twelve months in Information Systems Management, but those are recommendations rather than mandatory prerequisites.

How long does the certification last and how is it renewed?

It is valid for three years. You can renew with 60 CEUs, commonly 20 per year, plus an ethics and policy acknowledgment and a US regional fee of $200, or you can renew by taking an examination instead.

Are the nine modules the same as official exam domain weights?

No. The nine modules come from Mile2's course outline and are preparation topics. A verified, weighted exam blueprint, including domain percentages and a largest domain, has not been published, so plan to study all nine.

Ready to pass your C)DRE exam?

Put this into practice with free C)DRE questions across every exam domain.