- Mile2 does not publicly disclose a candidate pass rate for the Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer exam, so any quoted percentage is unverified.
- The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, about two hours, and a 70% minimum score to pass.
- The Exam Combo lists a US$500 promotional price against US$795 list, and includes two attempts plus prep resources.
- Nine course modules guide preparation; they are not an official weighted blueprint, so do not trust claimed domain percentages.
C)DRE Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows
- C)DRE Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows
- What Mile2 Actually Publishes About Pass Rates
- The Hard Numbers We Can Verify
- Why a Single Pass Percentage Would Mislead You
- What Drives Difficulty on the Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer Exam
- Module-by-Module Risk Map
- Two Attempts and the Economics of Passing
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Nine Modules
- Frequently Asked Questions
Key Takeaways
- Mile2 does not publicly disclose a candidate pass rate for the Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer exam, so any quoted percentage is unverified.
- The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, about two hours, and a 70% minimum score to pass.
- The Exam Combo lists a US$500 promotional price against US$795 list, and includes two attempts plus prep resources.
- Nine course modules guide preparation; they are not an official weighted blueprint, so do not trust claimed domain percentages.
- Training is not required to attempt the exam, and the suggested experience is twelve months in each of two IT areas.
Search for the Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer pass rate and you will find confident-sounding numbers on forums and aggregator sites. Almost none of them can be traced to the certifying body. This article takes a different approach: it separates what is published from what is guesswork, explains why the missing number matters less than you might think, and shows where candidates realistically lose points on a disaster recovery exam built around business impact analysis, recovery strategy, and testing.
What Mile2 Actually Publishes About Pass Rates
The Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer credential, styled C)DRE, is issued by Mile2. After reviewing the course outline, the Exam Combo product page, the general FAQ, and the renewal program pages, one fact stands out: no candidate pass rate is publicly disclosed. There is no annual statistic, no first-attempt versus retake split, and no cohort breakdown by training versus self-study.
This matters for planning. A candidate who reads an invented 90% figure may under-prepare; one who reads an invented 40% figure may delay unnecessarily. The responsible position is that the true figure is unknown to the public, and your preparation should be calibrated to the exam's published structure instead. For a broader sense of how demanding the test feels in practice, see our complete C)DRE difficulty guide.
The Hard Numbers We Can Verify
While the pass rate is absent, several exam-defining numbers are published. These are the figures you can actually plan around.
| Item | Published Detail |
|---|---|
| Questions | 100 multiple-choice |
| Duration | Approximately 2 hours (course outline and general FAQ both indicate two hours) |
| Minimum to pass | 70% |
| Scored vs. unscored questions | Not disclosed |
| Candidate pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Exam Combo price | US$500 promotional vs. US$795 list; includes two attempts and prep resources |
| Course length and CEUs | Four-day course, 32 CEUs |
| Credential validity | Three years |
| Suggested experience | Twelve months in Information Systems and twelve in Information Systems Management (suggested, not mandatory) |
Two items deserve emphasis. First, the 70% threshold means you can miss roughly 30 of 100 questions, assuming all questions count; because scored versus unscored allocation is not disclosed, do not assume a particular margin for error. Our C)DRE passing score breakdown covers how to interpret that threshold. Second, the experience guidance is explicitly a suggestion. Training is not required to attempt certification, which widens the candidate pool and is one reason a single pass percentage would be hard to interpret.
Why a Single Pass Percentage Would Mislead You
Even if Mile2 published an overall number tomorrow, it would blend very different candidates together. Consider who sits for a disaster recovery engineering exam:
- Course attendees who completed the four-day instructor-led or equivalent course and sit the exam soon after, with the module material fresh.
- Self-study candidates who bought the exam combo and rely on the prep resources and their own experience.
- Working continuity practitioners who already write business continuity plans and run recovery exercises, for whom the vocabulary is routine.
- Career changers from general IT or security who understand infrastructure but have never built a business impact analysis.
An aggregate rate averages those groups. Your personal odds depend on which group you resemble and how you prepare, not on the blended number. A better question than "what is the pass rate?" is "how closely does my background match what the nine modules test?" The answer to that is something you can measure with practice questions, which is why timed practice on our C)DRE practice test platform is a more reliable signal than any forum statistic.
Key Takeaway
Replace the unanswerable question ("what percentage pass?") with an answerable one: "can I score comfortably above 70% on realistic, timed, scenario-style questions across all nine modules?" If yes, you are in good shape regardless of the unpublished aggregate.
What Drives Difficulty on the Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer Exam
Without a pass rate, difficulty has to be inferred from content and format. Several structural features make this exam different from a pure memorization test.
Vocabulary That Looks Similar but Means Different Things
Disaster recovery and business continuity share terminology that candidates routinely blur: recovery time objective versus maximum tolerable downtime, recovery point objective versus data currency, business continuity plan versus disaster recovery plan, hot, warm, and cold sites. Multiple-choice distractors in this field are often plausible-sounding definitions that belong to an adjacent concept.
Process Order Questions
Much of the discipline is sequential: you analyze impact before you choose strategies, you design before you implement, you test before you declare readiness, and you maintain after you execute. Questions frequently ask what comes next or which step was skipped. Candidates who memorize terms but not the lifecycle stumble here.
Practitioner Judgment
Because the credential targets engineers, expect scenario framing: a department with a given tolerance for downtime, a recovery approach that fits or does not fit, a test type appropriate for a stage of program maturity. Reading comprehension and elimination skills matter as much as recall.
Time Is Moderate, Not Extreme
One hundred questions in roughly two hours works out to a little over a minute per question. That is generous compared with many technical exams, so pacing is rarely the primary failure mode; shallow understanding is.
Module-by-Module Risk Map
Mile2's current course outline contains nine modules. The outline is undated and is a course structure, not a verified weighted exam blueprint, so the official exam-domain count and any percentage weights are unverified. The labels below are the module names; the risk commentary is editorial judgment about where candidates tend to need the most work. For a fuller treatment of each topic, read our guide to all nine C)DRE content areas.
Domain 1: Introduction
Foundational framing of continuity and disaster recovery concepts.
- Lower risk for experienced practitioners; essential for correct vocabulary used throughout the rest of the exam.
- Lock down definitions early so later modules do not feel ambiguous.
Domain 2: Business Impact Analysis
The analytical foundation that justifies every later decision.
- Higher risk for technical candidates who have not worked with business stakeholders.
- Understand how criticality, dependencies, and tolerable outage feed recovery priorities.
Domain 3: BCP and DRP Design
Turning analysis into documented plans.
- Know the difference in purpose between business continuity and disaster recovery plans, and how they interlock.
- Expect questions on plan components and who owns what.
Domain 4: IT Recovery Strategies
Matching recovery approaches to requirements.
- Engineers often feel at home here, which can breed overconfidence on cost-versus-recovery-speed trade-offs.
- Practice choosing the strategy that fits a stated objective instead of the most impressive one.
Domain 5: IT Resiliency
Building systems that withstand or limit disruption.
- Distinguish resilience measures that prevent or absorb failure from recovery measures that respond after it.
Domain 6: Implementation Phase
Executing the designed plan into a working program.
- Sequence-heavy; watch for questions about what must be in place before the next activity.
Domain 7: Testing and Exercise
Validating that plans work.
- Know the range of exercise types from lighter to more disruptive, and when each is appropriate.
- Be ready to identify the purpose of a test and what a result should trigger.
Domain 8: Maintenance and Execution
Keeping plans current and carrying them out when needed.
- Plans decay; understand change triggers, review cycles, and the handoff from readiness to actual activation.
Domain 9: Pandemics
Continuity considerations for prolonged, people-centered disruptions.
- A distinctive module because the impact is on staffing and operations rather than on a single facility or system.
- Candidates who studied only infrastructure-focused disaster recovery often under-prepare here.
Two Attempts and the Economics of Passing
The Exam Combo listing offers a US$500 promotional price against a US$795 list price and includes two attempts plus prep resources. The checkout price at the time of review was not verified, so confirm the final figure on the product page before budgeting; see our C)DRE certification cost breakdown for the full picture, including renewal.
The two-attempt structure changes the practical risk calculation. A failed first attempt is not necessarily a second purchase. That said, treating the second attempt as a safety net tends to backfire: the first attempt is the best use of a fully prepared mind, and an unprepared first try wastes diagnostic value. A smarter use of the structure is to treat attempt one as a genuine, serious attempt and, if it falls short, to use your score feedback (where provided) to target the weakest modules before the retry.
The Renewal Side of the Equation
Passing is not the end of the cost curve. The credential is valid for three years. Renewal through the CEU path requires 60 CEUs, commonly earned at about 20 per year, along with an ethics and policy acknowledgment and a US regional renewal fee of $200. Examination-based renewal is an alternative. Since the four-day course itself awards 32 CEUs, candidates who take the course start with a meaningful head start toward the renewal total. Whether the certification repays that investment is explored in our ROI analysis.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Nine Modules
Generic study advice is plentiful, so this section is limited to how to order the nine modules, which is specific to this exam. The logic follows the disaster recovery lifecycle, because the exam rewards understanding that lifecycle, and because later modules assume earlier ones. A fuller plan is in our C)DRE study guide.
Introduction and Business Impact Analysis
- Build the vocabulary set and keep a running glossary of near-synonyms you tend to confuse.
- Work through impact analysis concepts first, since every later decision traces back to them.
BCP and DRP Design, IT Recovery Strategies
- Study plan structure and then practice matching strategies to stated recovery requirements.
- Do timed scenario questions rather than rereading notes.
IT Resiliency and Implementation Phase
- Separate prevention and absorption measures from response measures.
- Rehearse implementation sequencing until you can state the order without notes.
Testing and Exercise, Maintenance and Execution, Pandemics
- Learn the exercise types and what each is designed to prove.
- Give Pandemics a dedicated session; do not leave it to the end of a long day.
- Finish with full 100-question timed runs and review every miss by module.
Candidates who need a compact refresher near exam day can use our one-page C)DRE cheat sheet, and anyone still unsure about eligibility should confirm the C)DRE requirements first.
How to Read Your Practice Scores
Because no official pass rate exists, your own practice data is the best predictor available. Aim to score consistently above 70% on timed, unseen questions before you sit the exam, and look at the distribution across modules rather than the average alone. A strong overall score that hides a very weak module is the classic setup for an unpleasant surprise, especially given that module weights are not published. Start a free run on the C)DRE practice test site and sort your results by module to find the gaps early.
Testing Logistics to Confirm Before Exam Day
Exams are delivered through Mile2's own online account system, historically called MACS. Most standard Mile2 exams do not require a scheduled live proctor, but C)DRE is not a named exception, and the specific rules on open-book use, calculators, adaptive delivery, and accommodations were not verified. Check the current Mile2 FAQ and your account instructions before you schedule, and see our exam dates and scheduling guide for planning considerations.
Key Takeaway
The pass-rate gap is not a reason to worry. It is a reason to prepare against the things that are known: 100 questions, about two hours, 70% to pass, and nine modules that follow the disaster recovery lifecycle from impact analysis through pandemics.
Frequently Asked Questions
Mile2 does not publicly disclose a candidate pass rate for this exam. Any specific percentage you encounter online is unverified, and figures attached to other credentials that share the C)DRE acronym should not be applied here.
The published minimum is 70% on a 100-question multiple-choice exam lasting approximately two hours. How many questions are scored versus unscored is not disclosed, so do not plan around a precise number of allowed misses.
No. Training is not required to attempt certification. Mile2 suggests twelve months of experience in Information Systems and twelve in Information Systems Management, but those are suggestions rather than mandatory prerequisites. The four-day course does award 32 CEUs if you choose to take it.
The Exam Combo listing includes two attempts along with prep resources, so a failed first attempt does not automatically require a new purchase. Confirm the current terms on the product page, since the checkout price and conditions were not independently verified at the time of review.
No verified weighted blueprint is published. The nine modules (Introduction, Business Impact Analysis, BCP and DRP Design, IT Recovery Strategies, IT Resiliency, Implementation Phase, Testing and Exercise, Maintenance and Execution, and Pandemics) are course topics, so prepare for all of them rather than betting on a presumed heavy domain.