- The 70% Rule and What It Means
- Exam Format and Delivery
- What Mile2 Has and Hasn't Published
- Translating 70% Into a Practical Target
- Module-by-Module Targets for a Safe Margin
- Sequencing Your Prep Around the Nine Modules
- Fees, Attempts, and What a Miss Costs You
- After You Pass: Validity and Renewal
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer exam requires a minimum of 70% on 100 multiple-choice questions.
- Mile2 does not publicly disclose which questions are scored versus unscored, so treat every item as counting.
- The exam combo lists two attempts and prep resources, with a US$500 promotional price against a US$795 list price.
- Nine published course modules guide preparation, but Mile2 has not verified weighted domain percentages.
The 70% Rule and What It Means
If you are searching for the C)DRE passing score, the answer is short: 70%. Mile2 lists a minimum of 70% to pass the Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer exam. The exam contains 100 multiple-choice questions and runs approximately two hours, a figure that appears in both the course outline and the general FAQ.
That headline number is simple, but a few details around it deserve careful reading. Mile2 does not publish a scaled-score range, a per-domain minimum, or a breakdown of scored versus unscored items. In practical terms, you should plan as though every one of the 100 questions counts and as though the 70% threshold applies to your overall result rather than to each topic individually. Nothing in the reviewed public sources states a per-module cutoff, but because none is documented either way, the safest preparation strategy is to avoid leaving any module weak.
For context on how this threshold compares to the difficulty of the content itself, see our breakdown in How Hard Is the C)DRE Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026. And if you are wondering how many candidates actually clear the bar, note that Mile2 does not publicly disclose a candidate pass rate; our page on the C)DRE Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows explains what can and cannot be said responsibly.
Exam Format and Delivery
The Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer exam is delivered through Mile2's own online account and learning platform, historically referred to as MACS. No external testing company has been verified for this credential, so you should not expect to book a seat at a third-party test center based on the sources reviewed.
| Exam Element | What the Sources Support |
|---|---|
| Certifying body | Mile2 |
| Question count | 100 multiple-choice questions |
| Time allowed | Approximately 2 hours |
| Minimum passing score | 70% |
| Delivery | Mile2's online account/LMS (historically MACS) |
| Live proctor | Most standard Mile2 exams do not require a scheduled live proctor; C)DRE is not a named exception |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not disclosed |
| Open-book, calculator, adaptive, accommodations | Not verified |
Notice how many rows are marked as unverified. That is deliberate. Rules such as open-book permissions, calculator use, adaptive testing, and accommodation procedures were not confirmed in the reviewed material, so you should confirm them directly in your Mile2 account before exam day rather than relying on forum chatter or secondhand reports. The same caution applies to scheduling; for the practical side, see C)DRE Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
What Mile2 Has and Hasn't Published
A passing-score article is only as useful as it is honest about gaps. Here is the clean split between what is documented and what is not.
Documented
- A minimum of 70% to pass.
- 100 multiple-choice questions.
- Approximately two hours of testing time.
- A four-day course that awards 32 CEUs.
- A nine-module course outline covering the subject matter.
- Suggested (not mandatory) experience of twelve months in Information Systems and twelve months in Information Systems Management.
- No training requirement to attempt certification.
Not Verified
- An official exam-domain count and domain percentages.
- Which domain is the largest on the exam.
- The exam-version year.
- Whether any questions are unscored.
- A public candidate pass rate.
The current course outline is undated and presents nine modules. It is a preparation map, not a weighted exam blueprint. That distinction matters: when you see another site claim that a specific module is "30% of the exam," treat it with suspicion. For a full tour of how the modules are organized, read C)DRE Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 9 Content Areas.
Translating 70% Into a Practical Target
Knowing the cutoff is 70 out of 100 is the easy part. The harder part is choosing a personal readiness target that leaves room for exam-day variance: unfamiliar wording, a rattled first ten minutes, or a cluster of questions from your weakest module.
Because the exam is multiple choice and tests applied disaster recovery judgment, a candidate who is "usually around the line" in practice is at real risk. A sensible rule is to treat consistent practice results comfortably above 70% as your signal, not a single lucky run. Keep a log by module so you can see whether a decent overall number is hiding a weak spot. Our C)DRE practice tests are designed to let you check results by topic, which is the most reliable way to catch an imbalance before it costs you points.
Pacing is the other lever. Two hours for 100 questions averages roughly a minute and a half per item. Scenario-style items in areas such as recovery strategy and business impact analysis take longer to parse, so bank time on definitional questions and keep a steady rhythm. If your practice sessions routinely run out of time, fix pacing before you chase more content.
Module-by-Module Targets for a Safe Margin
The nine published modules are your content map. Since Mile2 has not released weights, the table below describes what to master in each area, not how many questions to expect.
Domain 1: Introduction
Foundational vocabulary and framing for disaster recovery and continuity.
- Know the core terms precisely, since later scenario questions assume them.
- Be able to distinguish related concepts that are easy to blur under time pressure.
Domain 2: Business Impact Analysis
How organizations identify critical functions and quantify the effect of disruption.
- Understand how impact analysis feeds recovery priorities.
- Practice reasoning from a described business situation to a prioritized outcome.
Domain 3: BCP and DRP Design
Designing continuity and disaster recovery plans.
- Separate business continuity planning from disaster recovery planning and know how they connect.
- Know what a well-formed plan contains and what makes one fail.
Domain 4: IT Recovery Strategies
Choosing how technology services get restored.
- Be able to match a recovery approach to a stated business need.
- Expect scenario wording that forces a tradeoff decision.
Domain 5: IT Resiliency
Building systems that withstand disruption rather than only recovering from it.
- Understand resilience as a design property, not just a response.
- Connect resiliency measures back to the earlier analysis and strategy work.
Domain 6: Implementation Phase
Moving from approved plan to operating capability.
- Know the sequence and responsibilities involved in putting plans into practice.
Domain 7: Testing and Exercise
Validating that plans actually work.
- Know the different forms of exercises and what each is meant to reveal.
- Understand what to do with test results.
Domain 8: Maintenance and Execution
Keeping plans current and carrying them out during a real event.
- Understand the upkeep cycle that prevents a plan from going stale.
- Be clear on the difference between maintaining a plan and invoking it.
Domain 9: Pandemics
Continuity and recovery considerations specific to pandemic events.
- Recognize how a prolonged, people-centered disruption differs from a facility or system outage.
These nine areas build on one another. The business impact analysis drives design, design drives strategy, and strategy drives implementation, testing, and maintenance. Candidates who understand that chain tend to reason well through scenario questions even when the exact wording is new. For a consolidated review, keep our C)DRE Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts nearby during your final week.
Sequencing Your Prep Around the Nine Modules
Rather than a generic routine, order your study to follow the logical dependency between modules. Earlier topics supply the vocabulary and reasoning that later topics reuse.
Foundations and Impact Analysis
- Cover Introduction and Business Impact Analysis first, because every later module assumes this vocabulary.
- Take a short diagnostic to see where you stand against the 70% line.
Design and Recovery Strategy
- Work through BCP and DRP Design and IT Recovery Strategies together, since strategy choices flow from design decisions.
- Practice scenario questions that ask you to justify a choice.
Resiliency, Implementation, Testing
- Study IT Resiliency, Implementation Phase, and Testing and Exercise as a connected group.
- Review any module where your practice score trailed the others.
Maintenance, Pandemics, Full Review
- Finish with Maintenance and Execution and Pandemics.
- Run timed full-length sets and confirm you are consistently above 70%.
For a fuller plan including resources and pacing advice, see the C)DRE Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt. If you are weighing whether to take the four-day course first, our C)DRE Training overview covers what that route offers; remember that training is not required to attempt the exam.
Fees, Attempts, and What a Miss Costs You
The score you need is only part of the picture; the cost of a second try matters for planning. Mile2's official exam combo listing shows a US$500 promotional price against a US$795 list price. The fetched checkout price was not verified, so confirm the figure at purchase. The combo includes two attempts and prep resources, and it is not structured as a member versus non-member split.
Two attempts built into the package changes how you can think about risk, but it should not become a reason to sit unprepared. Use the first attempt as a genuine try, and if you miss, use your result and your own practice logs to target the weakest modules before the second. For the complete financial picture, including renewal costs, read C)DRE Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Key Takeaway
Treat the two included attempts as a safety net, not a plan. Build your readiness around reaching a comfortable margin above 70% before the first sitting, and confirm current checkout pricing in your Mile2 account.
After You Pass: Validity and Renewal
A passing score earns a credential valid for three years. To keep it current, Mile2 describes a CEU renewal path that requires 60 CEUs, commonly earned at about 20 per year, along with an ethics and policy acknowledgment and a US regional renewal fee of $200. Examination-based renewal is available as an alternative. Because the four-day course awards 32 CEUs, it can also contribute toward renewal requirements.
Passing is also the start of the career conversation. Roles that touch continuity planning, infrastructure resilience, and recovery operations are the natural fit for this credential, and the practical question for most candidates is return on effort. Explore C)DRE Jobs, the C)DRE Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis, and Is the C)DRE Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 to weigh the investment. If you are still confirming eligibility, our guide to C)DRE Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify covers the suggested experience and the fact that it is not mandatory.
When you are ready to measure yourself against the 70% line under timed conditions, head to the main practice test site and start with a full-length set.
Frequently Asked Questions
The minimum passing score for the Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer exam is 70%. The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions and takes approximately two hours, so a pass means answering at least 70 correctly if all items are scored.
No. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed in the reviewed sources. The safest approach is to treat every question as counting toward your result.
Mile2 has not published per-module cutoffs or weighted exam percentages. The nine course modules are preparation topics rather than a verified weighted blueprint, so aim for solid knowledge across all of them.
The official exam combo listing includes two attempts along with prep resources. It lists a US$500 promotional price against a US$795 list price, though you should confirm the actual checkout price in your Mile2 account.
No. Training is not required to attempt certification, and the suggested twelve months each in Information Systems and Information Systems Management are recommendations rather than mandatory prerequisites. The four-day course does award 32 CEUs if you choose to take it.
The credential is valid for three years. Renewal is available through a CEU path requiring 60 CEUs, an ethics and policy acknowledgment, and a US regional renewal fee of $200, or through examination-based renewal.