- Why the C)DRE Has No Fixed Exam Calendar
- How Scheduling Works Through Mile2
- Timing Your Attempt Around the Four-Day Course
- What You Will Face When the Clock Starts
- Sequencing the Nine Modules Against Your Deadline
- Fees, Attempts, and Why They Affect Your Date
- After You Pass: The Three-Year Clock
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Mile2 delivers the C)DRE through its own online account system, so there is no verified fixed national testing calendar.
- The exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in roughly two hours, with a 70% minimum to pass.
- The Exam Combo lists at US$795 with a promotional US$500 price and includes two attempts plus prep resources.
- The credential is valid three years; CEU renewal needs 60 CEUs, commonly 20 per year.
Why the C)DRE Has No Fixed Exam Calendar
Candidates searching for "C)DRE exam dates 2026" often expect a grid of seasonal testing windows, the way some professional credentials publish quarterly sittings. For the Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer, issued by Mile2, that picture does not match what the public sources show. The exam is taken through Mile2's own online account and learning management system, historically called MACS, and no external testing company has been verified as part of the delivery chain.
That has a practical consequence: the "date" that matters is mostly the one you choose. Rather than hunting for a registration deadline that closes in a given month, your real planning task is deciding when you will be prepared across the full range of disaster recovery material, then activating your attempt on a schedule that suits you.
How Scheduling Works Through Mile2
The online account model
Mile2 runs its exams through the same account area where candidates access course content. If you purchase the Exam Combo, your exam attempts live in that account. Most standard Mile2 exams do not require a scheduled live proctor, and the C)DRE is not a named exception to that general pattern. In practical terms, this usually means you are not booking a seat at a physical test center for a specific afternoon the way you might for other IT credentials.
What was not verified in the public material is the finer detail of the testing session: specific open-book rules, calculator policy, whether the exam is adaptive, and how accommodations are handled. If any of those matter to you, contact Mile2 support before you commit to an attempt window rather than assuming.
What "scheduling" actually means for you
- Acquire the exam access. Most candidates buy the Exam Combo, which bundles two attempts with prep resources.
- Prepare against the nine modules. The course outline is your map; it is an issuer-course outline rather than a weighted blueprint.
- Sit the exam when ready. Because there is no verified fixed calendar, readiness drives timing.
- Hold your second attempt in reserve. The two attempts in the combo are a safety net, not a plan to burn through.
For a fuller view of what the paperwork and prerequisites look like before you start, see C)DRE Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify. And if you want the broader picture of the credential itself, What Is C)DRE Certification? covers the fundamentals.
Timing Your Attempt Around the Four-Day Course
Mile2 offers a four-day C)DRE course that awards 32 CEUs. Training is not required to attempt the certification, but many candidates use the course as the anchor for their timeline. If you take it, the most sensible approach is to treat the course dates as the start of your preparation clock rather than the end.
| Path | How your timeline forms | Best suited to |
|---|---|---|
| Course, then exam | Four-day course first; exam attempt follows after review of the nine modules | Candidates new to formal continuity and recovery planning |
| Self-study, then exam | You set the pace; the exam date is whenever you feel ready | Practitioners already working in IT recovery or resilience |
| Course, review gap, exam | Course for structure, then a deliberate consolidation period before attempting | Candidates balancing full-time work with preparation |
Mile2 suggests, but does not require, twelve months of experience in Information Systems and twelve months in Information Systems Management. Because these are suggestions rather than gates, they do not create an eligibility deadline you must hit before booking. They are better read as a signal of the maturity level the material assumes. You can explore that further in How Hard Is the C)DRE Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.
What You Will Face When the Clock Starts
Choosing a date is only useful if you know what you are scheduling. The C)DRE is 100 multiple-choice questions, with approximately two hours allowed. Both the course outline and Mile2's general FAQ point to roughly that duration. The minimum score to pass is 70%. Mile2 does not disclose how many questions are scored versus unscored, and the candidate pass rate is not publicly disclosed, so treat any specific pass-rate figure you encounter elsewhere with skepticism. For a closer look at what the data does and does not show, read C)DRE Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows and C)DRE Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
Because the exam is multiple-choice and built on a course that frames disaster recovery as a lifecycle, expect questions that test whether you understand sequence and purpose: why a business impact analysis comes before recovery strategy selection, what a test exercise is meant to prove, how maintenance keeps a plan from decaying. Memorizing isolated terms will carry you only so far.
Sequencing the Nine Modules Against Your Deadline
This is the one place where scheduling and study planning meet. The nine published course modules are unweighted preparation topics, and Mile2 has not released an official weighted exam blueprint, so no domain should be treated as "worth" a certain percentage of your score. What you can do is order your preparation in the same logical flow the lifecycle follows, so each module builds on the last.
Foundations and analysis
- Introduction: vocabulary, scope, and how continuity and disaster recovery relate
- Business Impact Analysis: identifying critical functions and the cost of downtime
Design and strategy
- BCP and DRP Design: how plans are structured and documented
- IT Recovery Strategies: matching recovery approaches to business needs
- IT Resiliency: building systems that withstand disruption in the first place
Execution and proof
- Implementation Phase: moving from plan on paper to operating capability
- Testing and Exercise: validating that the plan actually works
Sustainment and special cases
- Maintenance and Execution: keeping plans current and invoking them correctly
- Pandemics: continuity planning when the disruption is people-driven rather than infrastructure-driven
Working front to back like this means your Business Impact Analysis knowledge is solid before you tackle recovery strategies, which depend on it. If you are short on runway, compress the phases evenly rather than skipping the final one; the Pandemics module is easy to dismiss as niche, but it is a named part of the course and therefore fair game. For the module-by-module breakdown, see C)DRE Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 9 Content Areas, and for a structured week-by-week plan, C)DRE Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.
Key Takeaway
Because no domain weighting is published, spread your readiness evenly. Check yourself against all nine areas with timed sets from the C)DRE practice test site before you activate an attempt, and let your weakest module, not your calendar, decide whether you are ready.
Fees, Attempts, and Why They Affect Your Date
Mile2's official Exam Combo listing shows a US$500 promotional price against a US$795 list price. The price you see at checkout was not independently verified for this article, so confirm it on the product page when you buy. The combo includes two attempts and prep resources. It is not structured as a member versus non-member price split.
The two-attempt structure should shape when you sit the first one. If you treat attempt one as a casual trial run, you consume half your safety net. If you treat it as the real thing and keep attempt two as insurance, you preserve flexibility. Either way, avoid scheduling your first attempt at a point when work or life is about to get busy; a rushed sitting is the most common way to waste an attempt. For the full cost picture, including how the combo compares with buying components separately, see C)DRE Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
| Item | What is known |
|---|---|
| Delivery | Mile2's own online account/LMS (historically MACS); no external testing company verified |
| Format | 100 multiple-choice questions |
| Duration | Approximately two hours |
| Passing standard | Minimum 70% |
| Exam Combo | US$500 promotional vs US$795 list; two attempts plus prep resources |
| Scored/unscored split | Not disclosed |
| Candidate pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
After You Pass: The Three-Year Clock
Once you earn the credential, a different calendar begins. The certification is valid for three years. To renew by continuing education, you need 60 CEUs, commonly earned at about 20 per year, along with an ethics and policy acknowledgment and a US regional renewal fee of $200. Examination-based renewal is the alternative route if you would rather re-test than track credits.
Notably, the four-day course itself awards 32 CEUs, which means taking the course can give you a meaningful head start on that 60-CEU target. If you plan around renewal from day one, you will not find yourself scrambling in the third year. Whether that ongoing investment pays off is a question worth asking early; Is the C)DRE Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and C)DRE Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis examine that, and C)DRE Jobs looks at the roles where the credential tends to be relevant, such as continuity, resilience, and IT recovery positions.
Frequently Asked Questions
No fixed national testing calendar was verified. Mile2 delivers the exam through its own online account system, so your practical exam date is generally the one you choose after activating your attempt. Confirm current procedures directly with Mile2.
No. Training is not required to attempt the certification. The four-day course awards 32 CEUs and gives structure, but self-study candidates may attempt the exam without it.
The official Exam Combo includes two attempts and prep resources. It lists at US$795 with a US$500 promotional price shown; verify the checkout price on Mile2's product page before purchasing.
The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions and runs approximately two hours. The minimum passing score is 70%. Mile2 does not disclose the scored versus unscored question breakdown.
The credential is valid three years. Renewal by CEUs requires 60 CEUs (commonly 20 per year), an ethics and policy acknowledgment, and a US regional renewal fee of $200. Examination-based renewal is an alternative path.
Whatever date you settle on, let preparation lead and the calendar follow. Run timed practice across all nine areas at the main practice test site, use the C)DRE Cheat Sheet 2026 for last-pass review, and revisit this exam dates guide whenever Mile2 updates its procedures.