- What Is Actually Required to Sit the Exam
- The Suggested Experience: Information Systems and Management
- Training Is Optional, But the Course Shapes Preparation
- Registration, Fees and the Exam Combo
- Exam Format You Qualify For
- Knowledge You Need Across the Nine Modules
- Who Should Pursue This Credential
- Maintaining the Credential After You Pass
- Mapping Your Readiness Plan to the Modules
- Frequently Asked Questions
- C)DRE (Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer) is issued by Mile2, and formal training is not required to attempt the exam.
- Twelve months each in Information Systems and Information Systems Management are suggested, not mandatory.
- The exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in roughly two hours, with a 70% minimum to pass.
- The credential is valid three years; renewal needs 60 CEUs or a re-examination.
What Is Actually Required to Sit the Exam
The Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer credential, styled C)DRE by its issuer Mile2, has a notably open door compared with many security and continuity credentials. Based on Mile2's published course outline and general FAQ, there is no hard prerequisite that blocks you from attempting the exam. There is no mandatory course, no required prior certification, and no formal application that screens candidates on credentials before they can register.
What exists instead is a set of suggestions. Mile2 recommends a background in information systems and information systems management, but frames it as guidance for candidates who want the best chance of success rather than a gate. If you are new to the field, that distinction matters: you can attempt the exam, but you should be honest about whether your experience matches what the content assumes. For a deeper look at how demanding the test feels in practice, see our guide on how hard the C)DRE exam is.
The Suggested Experience: Information Systems and Management
The suggested background has two halves, and each maps to something you will actually need when answering scenario questions.
Twelve Months in Information Systems
Hands-on exposure to how systems, networks, applications and data stores fit together is the practical foundation for the technical modules. When the course discusses IT recovery strategies and IT resiliency, it assumes you can picture servers, storage, replication, backups and the dependencies between them. Candidates who have never touched production infrastructure often find recovery-site and failover discussions abstract.
Twelve Months in Information Systems Management
The management half covers the part of disaster recovery that is not technical: ownership, budgets, priorities, communication and governance. The Business Impact Analysis and BCP and DRP Design modules reward people who understand how organizations decide what matters most, because those decisions drive everything downstream. If your background is purely technical, spend extra time here.
| Requirement Item | Status | What It Means for You |
|---|---|---|
| 12 months in Information Systems | Suggested | Helps with technical recovery and resiliency content |
| 12 months in Information Systems Management | Suggested | Helps with BIA, planning and governance content |
| Formal Mile2 training | Not required | You may attempt the exam without taking the course |
| Prior certification | Not listed | No prerequisite credential appears in the reviewed sources |
Training Is Optional, But the Course Shapes Preparation
Mile2 states that training is not required to attempt certification. Even so, the official four-day course is the clearest published map of what the exam covers, and it awards 32 CEUs, which is useful if you already hold other credentials and track continuing education. The course outline lists nine modules, and those modules are the best publicly available guide to what a candidate should know.
An important honesty note: the outline is undated and describes course modules, not a weighted exam blueprint. Mile2 does not publish domain percentages in the sources we reviewed, so anyone claiming to know exactly how many questions come from each area is guessing. Prepare for all nine areas rather than betting on a presumed heavy domain. Our complete guide to the nine C)DRE content areas walks through each module in detail.
Registration, Fees and the Exam Combo
Mile2 delivers C)DRE testing through its own online account system, historically referred to as MACS, rather than through a separate third-party testing company. In the sources we reviewed, no external testing vendor was verified for this exam. That means your first step toward qualifying is typically creating or accessing a Mile2 account and purchasing the exam product there.
The Exam Combo Listing
Mile2's official Exam Combo listing for C)DRE showed a promotional price of US$500 against a list price of US$795. The combo is described as including two exam attempts plus preparation resources. A few caveats are worth stating plainly:
- We could not verify the final checkout price, so confirm the amount in your cart before paying.
- The listing is an Exam Combo, not a member versus non-member price split.
- The two attempts are bundled into the product, which affects how you think about retake planning.
For a fuller treatment of what you will spend overall, including renewal costs, read our C)DRE certification cost breakdown. If scheduling is your concern, our page on exam dates, windows and scheduling covers the timing side.
Exam Format You Qualify For
Meeting the requirements gets you the exam itself, so it helps to know what you are signing up for. The C)DRE exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions. Both the course outline and the general FAQ point to roughly two hours of testing time. The minimum score to pass is 70%, which on a 100-question exam works out to 70 correct if every item counts, though Mile2 does not disclose how many items may be unscored.
| Exam Attribute | Published Detail |
|---|---|
| Question count | 100 multiple-choice |
| Time allowed | Approximately 2 hours |
| Passing threshold | 70% minimum |
| Delivery | Mile2 online account system (MACS) |
| Live proctor | Most standard Mile2 exams do not require one; C)DRE is not a named exception |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
Specific rules such as open-book allowances, calculator use, adaptive behavior and accommodation procedures were not verified in the sources we reviewed, so check them with Mile2 directly before test day. To understand what the cutoff means for your preparation, see our explainer on the C)DRE passing score, and for what is known about outcomes, the pass rate analysis.
Knowledge You Need Across the Nine Modules
Since there are no formal prerequisites, the real requirement is knowledge. The nine published modules are your syllabus. Below is what each one demands, framed around the kind of scenarios a multiple-choice disaster recovery exam tends to pose.
Domain 1: Introduction
Foundational vocabulary and framing for the discipline.
- Distinguishing business continuity from disaster recovery and where each begins and ends
- Understanding the lifecycle that the later modules follow
Domain 2: Business Impact Analysis
The analytical backbone of the whole program.
- Identifying critical functions and their dependencies
- Recovery time and recovery point objectives and how they drive technology choices
- Quantifying the impact of downtime in business terms
Domain 3: BCP and DRP Design
Turning analysis into documented plans.
- Plan structure, scope, roles and responsibilities
- Alignment between continuity plans and recovery plans
Domain 4: IT Recovery Strategies
Selecting how systems and data will be restored.
- Recovery site options and their cost-versus-speed trade-offs
- Backup, replication and data protection approaches
Domain 5: IT Resiliency
Reducing the likelihood and impact of outages before they happen.
- Redundancy, high availability and fault tolerance concepts
- Designing for failure rather than only reacting to it
Domain 6: Implementation Phase
Moving from plan to operational reality.
- Deploying recovery capabilities and training staff
- Awareness and communication during rollout
Domain 7: Testing and Exercise
Proving that plans actually work.
- Types of tests and exercises, from walkthroughs to full simulations
- Capturing results and feeding lessons back into the plan
Domain 8: Maintenance and Execution
Keeping plans current and acting on them during an event.
- Change management and periodic plan review
- Declaring and managing an actual disaster response
Domain 9: Pandemics
Continuity planning for prolonged, people-centered disruption.
- How pandemic scenarios differ from facility or system outages
- Workforce availability, remote operations and extended-duration planning
Key Takeaway
Do not treat the Pandemics module as an afterthought because it sits last. It tests a different planning mindset, where the loss is people and time rather than hardware, and many candidates under-prepare for it.
Who Should Pursue This Credential
Because the credential spans both technical recovery and management planning, it tends to suit people who sit between operations and governance. Typical profiles include systems administrators moving toward resilience work, IT managers who own continuity responsibilities, security and risk professionals who need recovery planning fluency, and consultants who build or audit continuity programs. Employers that care about operational resilience, such as organizations in regulated or availability-sensitive industries, are the natural audience, though we do not claim any specific hiring statistics. For market context, see our look at C)DRE jobs, and for the broader value question, our ROI analysis of the certification.
If you are still orienting yourself to the credential, our primer on what C)DRE certification is is a good starting point, and the C)DRE training overview compares the course route with self-study.
Maintaining the Credential After You Pass
Qualifying is not a one-time event. The C)DRE credential is valid for three years. Mile2 offers a CEU-based renewal path and an examination-based alternative.
| Renewal Path | Requirements |
|---|---|
| CEU-based | 60 CEUs (commonly 20 per year), ethics/policy acknowledgment, and a US regional renewal fee of $200 |
| Examination-based | Retake the exam as an alternative to accumulating CEUs |
The four-day course's 32 CEUs can contribute toward the 60-CEU target, which is one reason some candidates take the course even though it is not required. Because the fee and rules come from Mile2's renewal pages, confirm current amounts for your region before planning your budget.
Mapping Your Readiness Plan to the Modules
A generic schedule is less useful than one that reflects how the modules build on each other. The Business Impact Analysis module feeds directly into design and strategy, so it deserves early attention. Here is one way to sequence preparation for a candidate with moderate experience. For the full approach, see our C)DRE study guide.
Foundations and Business Impact Analysis
- Cover Introduction and Business Impact Analysis together
- Master RTO, RPO and dependency mapping, since later modules lean on them
Design and Recovery Strategies
- Study BCP and DRP Design and IT Recovery Strategies back to back
- Practice matching recovery options to stated objectives
Resiliency, Implementation and Testing
- Work through IT Resiliency, Implementation Phase, and Testing and Exercise
- Distinguish test types and what each one proves
Maintenance, Pandemics and Full Review
- Finish Maintenance and Execution and the Pandemics module
- Run timed practice sets that mirror 100 questions in about two hours
For a compact refresher in the final days, our C)DRE cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts, and you can test yourself against realistic questions on the main practice test site.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. Mile2 states that training is not required to attempt certification. The four-day course is optional, though it awards 32 CEUs and follows the nine published modules that outline the exam content.
No. Twelve months in Information Systems and twelve months in Information Systems Management are suggested, not mandatory. Treat them as a guide to whether you are ready, not as an eligibility requirement.
The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions with roughly two hours allowed. The minimum passing score is 70%. Mile2 does not publicly disclose a candidate pass rate or how many questions may be unscored.
It is valid for three years. You can renew through CEUs (60 CEUs, commonly 20 per year, plus an ethics and policy acknowledgment and a US regional renewal fee of $200) or by retaking the exam.
Most standard Mile2 exams do not require a scheduled live proctor, and C)DRE is not a named exception. Rules on open-book use, calculators and accommodations were not verified, so confirm them with Mile2 before test day.