- The Short Answer: What the Letters Spell Out
- Why the Odd Bracket Styling?
- What the Title Actually Claims You Can Do
- The Nine Course Modules Behind the Credential
- How the Exam Works in Practice
- Fees, Registration, and What Is Bundled
- Who Should Hold a C)DRE
- What Holding the Credential Costs Over Time
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Modules
- Frequently Asked Questions
- C)DRE stands for Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer, a Mile2 credential styled with a closing bracket after the C.
- The exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in roughly two hours, with a 70% minimum to pass.
- Preparation follows nine published Mile2 course modules, from Introduction through Pandemics; they are unweighted topics.
- The credential lasts three years; renewal takes 60 CEUs or a re-examination.
The Short Answer: What the Letters Spell Out
C)DRE means Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer. It is a professional certification issued by Mile2, and it signals that the holder understands how to plan, build, test, and maintain the capability to restore business and IT operations after a disruptive event. If you landed here after seeing the acronym on a job posting or a résumé, that is the entire expansion: Certified, Disaster Recovery, Engineer.
The words in the title are worth reading closely. "Disaster recovery" is the discipline of restoring technology and operations after an outage, an attack, a facility loss, or a similar event. "Engineer" frames the credential as hands-on and design-oriented rather than purely managerial. For related phrasings of the same question, see our explainers on what C)DRE stands for and the C)DRE meaning.
Why the Odd Bracket Styling?
Mile2 styles its certification names with a closing parenthesis directly after the first letter. The official styling is C)DRE, and you will see the same pattern across Mile2's catalog, where the bracket stands in for the word "Certified." That is why a search for the credential sometimes appears as "CDRE" without the bracket: many people drop the punctuation when typing, and employers often do too. Both spellings refer to the same Mile2 credential when the context is Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer.
What the Title Actually Claims You Can Do
A certification title is a compressed promise. For the C)DRE, the promise is that you can move an organization through the full lifecycle of recovery planning rather than just one slice of it. That lifecycle starts with understanding what the business cannot afford to lose, continues through designing plans and choosing recovery strategies, and ends with exercising and maintaining those plans so they still work when something finally breaks.
Notice what that implies about the knowledge involved. Disaster recovery engineering sits at the junction of business analysis and technical design. A candidate has to reason about why a function matters to the organization (impact analysis) and also about how to bring it back (recovery strategies and resiliency). The C)DRE blends those perspectives instead of treating disaster recovery as purely a backup-and-restore topic.
The Nine Course Modules Behind the Credential
Mile2's published course outline for the C)DRE contains nine modules. These are the structure candidates prepare against. It is important to be precise about what they are: the outline is an undated course outline, not a verified weighted exam blueprint, so you should treat the modules as unweighted preparation topics rather than a statement of how many exam questions each one carries. For a deeper walk through each area, see our complete guide to the nine C)DRE content areas.
Domain 1: Introduction
The foundation: what disaster recovery and business continuity are, why organizations invest in them, and the vocabulary used in every later module.
- Core terminology and how recovery relates to continuity
- Why disruptions occur and what they cost organizations
Domain 2: Business Impact Analysis
How to identify critical functions, dependencies, and the consequences of losing them over time.
- Prioritizing processes by business criticality
- Deriving recovery time and recovery point targets from impact findings
Domain 3: BCP and DRP Design
Turning analysis into written business continuity and disaster recovery plans.
- How continuity plans and recovery plans differ and connect
- Plan structure, roles, and activation criteria
Domain 4: IT Recovery Strategies
Choosing how systems, data, and infrastructure will actually be restored.
- Matching recovery strategy to the targets set in the impact analysis
- Trade-offs between cost, speed, and complexity of recovery options
Domain 5: IT Resiliency
Designing systems so that fewer disruptions become disasters in the first place.
- Redundancy and fault-tolerance thinking
- How resiliency reduces reliance on emergency recovery
Domain 6: Implementation Phase
Moving from approved plans to operating capability.
- Putting strategies, tooling, and procedures into place
- Training staff and assigning responsibilities
Domain 7: Testing and Exercise
Proving that plans work before a real event proves they do not.
- Different exercise styles and what each one validates
- Capturing findings and feeding them back into the plan
Domain 8: Maintenance and Execution
Keeping plans current and running them correctly during an actual incident.
- Change management and plan upkeep as environments evolve
- Executing the plan under pressure and managing the aftermath
Domain 9: Pandemics
Planning for prolonged, people-centered disruption rather than a single facility or system failure.
- How an extended loss of workforce changes continuity assumptions
- Remote operation and phased response considerations
One feature of this list deserves attention: the sequence mirrors a program lifecycle. You analyze, design, choose strategies, build resiliency, implement, test, and maintain. Candidates who internalize that arc tend to answer scenario questions more confidently, because they can place any situation at a point in the lifecycle and reason about what should happen next. Pandemics is the unusual ninth module, and it rewards separate attention because its assumptions differ from conventional site-loss planning.
How the Exam Works in Practice
The C)DRE exam is 100 multiple-choice questions with an approximate two-hour time allowance; both the course outline and Mile2's general FAQ describe it that way. The minimum score to pass is 70%. Mile2 does not publicly disclose how many questions are scored versus unscored, and it does not publish a candidate pass rate, so be wary of any site that quotes a precise one. Our pass rate analysis explains what can and cannot be said from public information, and the passing score guide covers the 70% threshold in more detail.
| Exam Feature | What Is Published |
|---|---|
| Format | 100 multiple-choice questions |
| Time allowance | Approximately two hours |
| Minimum to pass | 70% |
| Delivery | Through Mile2's own online account/LMS (historically called MACS) |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not disclosed |
| Candidate pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
Delivery and proctoring
Candidates test through Mile2's own online system rather than a separate third-party testing center, and no external testing company has been verified for this exam. Most standard Mile2 exams do not require a scheduled live proctor, and the C)DRE is not a named exception to that pattern. Details such as open-book policy, calculator rules, adaptive behavior, and accommodations were not verified in the sources reviewed, so confirm those directly with Mile2 before exam day rather than assuming. Scheduling questions are covered in our guide to C)DRE exam dates and scheduling.
What the question style demands
Because the content is organized around a planning lifecycle, expect questions that ask you to choose the best action at a given stage rather than recall an isolated definition. A typical item might describe a situation, such as a newly identified critical process or a failed exercise, and ask which step or document comes next. Distractors tend to be actions that are valid at a different phase of the lifecycle. If you can name the phase, you can usually eliminate half the options. For a candid look at the demands, read how hard the C)DRE exam is.
Fees, Registration, and What Is Bundled
Mile2's official Exam Combo listing shows a promotional price of US$500 against a US$795 list price. The checkout price itself was not verified, so treat the promotional figure as a listing price and confirm it at purchase. The combo includes two exam attempts and preparation resources. It is not structured as a member versus non-member price split. Because the exam is delivered through Mile2's own account system, registration and testing happen in the same place you manage your Mile2 profile. Our certification cost breakdown lays out the pricing considerations in full.
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Exam Combo promotional price | US$500 (listing; checkout price not verified) |
| Exam Combo list price | US$795 |
| Attempts included | Two |
| Also included | Preparation resources |
| Four-day course credit | 32 CEUs |
Who Should Hold a C)DRE
Mile2 suggests twelve months of experience in Information Systems and twelve months in Information Systems Management. Those are suggestions rather than gates, and training is not required to attempt the certification. Our requirements guide covers eligibility in detail. In practical terms, the credential fits professionals whose work touches continuity and recovery:
- IT operations and infrastructure staff who own backup, replication, and restoration and want a framework around what they already do.
- Business continuity and risk practitioners who need to speak credibly about the technical side of recovery.
- Security and compliance personnel responsible for demonstrating that resilience controls exist and are tested.
- Project and program managers who coordinate recovery programs across business and technology teams.
Roles that mention continuity, resilience, or recovery planning are where the credential is most likely to be read as relevant. To see how those roles show up in the market, browse our overview of C)DRE jobs, and for compensation context without invented numbers, the salary guide and ROI analysis walk through what drives pay for recovery-focused roles.
What Holding the Credential Costs Over Time
The C)DRE is valid for three years. To renew by continuing education, you need 60 CEUs, commonly earned at about 20 per year, along with an acknowledgment of Mile2's ethics and policy requirements, plus a US regional renewal fee of $200. Retaking an examination is an alternative renewal path. The four-day Mile2 course itself awards 32 CEUs, which gives a sense of how much of the requirement a single training event can cover.
Key Takeaway
Plan the three-year cycle at the start. Logging roughly 20 CEUs per year is far easier than finding 60 in the final months, and the 32 CEUs from the four-day course give new holders a head start if they trained before testing.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Modules
You do not need a generic study system here; you need an order that respects how the modules depend on each other. Business Impact Analysis feeds almost everything downstream, so it earns your earliest and deepest attention. The following sequence is an editorial suggestion, not an official schedule. For a fuller plan, see our C)DRE study guide, and keep the one-page cheat sheet nearby for final review.
Introduction and Business Impact Analysis
- Master the vocabulary first so later modules read cleanly
- Work through how impact findings produce recovery targets, since Domains 3 and 4 depend on them
BCP and DRP Design, IT Recovery Strategies, IT Resiliency
- Practice distinguishing continuity plans from recovery plans
- Match strategy choices to targets, and contrast recovery with resiliency
Implementation, Testing and Exercise, Maintenance and Execution
- Walk the lifecycle from rollout through exercise to upkeep
- Drill which exercise style validates which part of a plan
Pandemics and full-length practice
- Study how prolonged workforce loss changes planning assumptions
- Take timed 100-question sets and review every miss by lifecycle phase
When you reach timed practice, use the C)DRE practice tests to rehearse the pacing of 100 questions in about two hours, which works out to a little over a minute per question. Review misses by module so you can see whether your gaps cluster in analysis, design, or testing. The main practice site also helps you gauge readiness against the 70% bar before you spend an attempt.
Frequently Asked Questions
C)DRE means Certified Disaster Recovery Engineer, a certification from Mile2. The bracket after the C is Mile2's styling convention, standing in for the word "Certified." You may also see it written CDRE.
It requires a minimum of 70% on 100 multiple-choice questions in roughly two hours. Mile2 does not publish a pass rate, so difficulty is best judged by your familiarity with the nine modules and the recovery planning lifecycle rather than by a statistic.
No. Training is not required to attempt the certification, and the suggested experience of twelve months in Information Systems and twelve in Information Systems Management is likewise a suggestion rather than a requirement. The four-day course does award 32 CEUs if you take it.
It is valid for three years. You can renew with 60 CEUs, commonly 20 per year, plus an ethics and policy acknowledgment and a US regional renewal fee of $200, or by passing an examination instead.
No. The nine modules come from Mile2's course outline and serve as unweighted preparation topics. The exam-domain count, domain percentages, and largest domain have not been verified, so avoid sources that claim official weightings.
If you want a broader orientation beyond this question, our explainers on what C)DRE certification is and C)DRE training options cover the credential from complementary angles.